A tale of two lockets

Coincidentally, I recently received two comments on two successive days, mentioning lockets that once belonged to people mentioned in this blog. The first comment was from Patricia Earl, and related to Elizabeth Merry, daughter of Rev William Merry, whom I wrote about last year. Elizabeth was the niece of Robert Merry, the vicar of Guilden Morden in Cambridgeshire, for whom my great-great-great-grandmother Eliza Roe nee Holdsworth worked as a domestic servant in the 1860s and early 1870s. Elizabeth was staying with her widowed aunt Mary Ann Merry in Tor Moham, Devon, at the time of the 1871 census, when Eliza Roe was the family’s housekeeper. Patricia writes:

I read this part of your story with interest. I am at the moment wearing a locket belonging to Elizabeth Merry, commemorating the death in 1859 of her father, William Merry! I am researching the Phipps family and was left the locket by a cousin of my husband, Elizabeth Diana Earl who was a granddaughter of Rev John Merry and Anna Maria his wife. Elizabeth Merry was her great aunt.

The second comment, from Jan Beets in New Zealand, relates to Jane Wild, who married Samuel Hurst Seager, brother of my great-great-grandmother Fanny Sarah Robb nee Seager, and whom I wrote about a few weeks ago. This was Jan’s response to that post:

I am staggered. For the last 30 odd years I have had this locket with Jane inscribed on the outside and on the inside a photo with the word Jane Seager died 1859 aged 33. She is at last real. I don’t know how my family line got the locket but it is something I love and cherish. I got it because my name was closest to Jane.

Jan has kindly sent me some scanned images of the locket, including this photograph of Jane:

This entry was posted in Seager. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

