The will of Captain Richard Boulton Junior of Perdiswell, Worcestershire

Three years after the death of his uncle, Richard Boulton the elder, whose will of 1737 I discussed in the previous post, Captain Richard Boulton Junior of  the East India Company made his own last will and testament. It would be another five years after that before the will was proved: Richard Boulton the younger died in 1745, the year of the Jacobite uprising.

A ship of the East India Company at Blackwall

A ship of the East India Company at Blackwall

This second Boulton will is valuable in confirming some of the family relationships revealed in the earlier document, and it also extends our understanding of the Boultons in important ways. In this post, I’m sharing my transcription of the will, and I’ll discuss its implications in the next post. As before, I’ve retained the original spelling as far as possible and have highlighted in bold the named of individuals when first mentioned.

In the Name of God Amen I Richard Boulton of Perdeswell in the County of Worcester Esquire being of sound and disposing Mind Memory and Understanding do make my last Will and Testament in manner following that is to say I desire to be buried privately without any pomp and I order and direct my just Debts and the Expense of my funeral to be paid and discharged as soon as may be Whereas my late Uncle Richard Boulton late of the parish of Saint Olave Hart Street in the City of London Esquire deceased by his last Will and Testament bearing date ninth day of April one thousand seven hundred and thirty seven – after writing that he had bought the Revertion of two Annuitys of fourteen pounds per Annum payable out of his Majesties Receipt of Exchequer one of which at the time of his making his Will was fallen in and the other was then and is still payable to a Lady in Scotland did will and direct that the fourteen pounds per Annum which was then fallen in should be paid from time to time as it should become due to his the Testators Nephew William Boulton my Brother during his natural Life and also that the other fourteen pounds per Annum Annuity when it should fall in should be also paid to the said William Boulton during his Life as by the said Will may appear Now I do hereby give and bequeath unto my honoured Mother Bridget Boulton Widow an Annuity by yearly sum of eighty six pounds for so long time of her Life and untill the fourteen pounds per Annum left by my said Uncle to my said Brother William Boulton and which at the time of making his Will was not fallen in shall fall in and become payable and from and after the time that the said fourteen pounds per Annum shall fall in and become payable I give her an Annuity or yearly sum of seventy two pounds during her natural Life such respective Annuitys to be paid to my said Mother by equal Quarterly payments without any Deduction upon Amount of Taxes or upon any other Amount whatsoever Item I do hereby give and bequeath unto my said Brother William Boulton from and after the death of my said Mother during his natural Life such Annuity or yearly sum of Money as with what he shall receive by virtue of the Will of my said late Uncle will make up the full and clear sum of sixty pounds which sum it is my Intent and meaning And I do order and direct shall be laid out and expended by my Executor after named for the use and Benefit of my said Brother in maintaining and providing for him but shall not be paid to him in money Item I give and Bequeath unto Mrs Mary Lewes of London spinster an Annuity or Yearly sum of ten pounds during her natural Life to be paid Quarterly clear of all Deductions whatsoever And I charge all my Estate Reall and Personal with the payment of the said several Annuities Item I give and bequeath unto my said Mother the sum of two hundred pounds of lawfull Money of Great Britain over and above the said respective Annuitys to be paid her immediately after my Decease Item I give and bequeath unto my Cosen Esther Crabb of Tower hill London Widow the sum of five hundred pounds and to my Cousin Captain Richard Crabb Son of the said Esther Crabb the like sum of give hundred pounds the said Legacies of two hundred pounds five hundred pounds and five hundred pounds to be paid within six Months after my Decease Item I give and bequeath unto my Uncle and Aunt Peter and Posthuma Boulton of the City of Bath ten Guineas a peice for Mourning and unto my Cousin Alice Biggleston Wife of William Biggleston Surgeon twenty Guineas for Mourning and to each of her Children that are now born or which shall be born before the time of my death and shall be then living the sum of ten Guineas and my Cousin John Jemblin of Evesham in the said County of Worcester twenty Guineas and to Mrs. Mary Gibbs the Wife of Walter Gibbs of the City of Bath Apothecary ten Guineas and to the before named Mary Lewes ten Guineas and to my friend William Cury (?) of London Salter ten Guineas such last mentioned Legacies to be paid immediately after my Decease Item I give and bequeath unto the persons who at the time of my Decease shall be living with me in the Capacitys of housekeeper and Butler twenty pounds apeice and to the person who shall be then my Gardner five pounds and to every other yearly servant who shall be living with me at my Death a years Wages and in Order that the several Annuitys herein before given may be effectually secured and punctually paid I do hereby direct my Executor herein after named to buy out so much of my personal Estate at Interest upon Government or other Good Securitys The Interest whereof shall be fully sufficient to pay the said Annuitys as the same shall become due and that he continue at Interest upon such Securities after the death of my said Mother a sufficient part of my Estate The Interest whereof shall be sufficient to pay my said Brother the Annuitys herein before given and directed to be laid out for his Use and Benefit so that the same may be effectually secured Provided always and my Wills is that if there shall not be of my personal Estate after payment of my Debts and the several Legacies before mentioned sufficient to layout on securities the Annual Interest or Produce whereof will pay the said Annuities to my said Mother and Brother and the said Mary Lewes respectively in such Case I impower and direct my Executor herein after named to lay out so much of the one thousand pounds before given to the said Esther Crabb and Richard Crabb as will be sufficient to make the Interest and produce of the Money to be laid out fully able to pay the said Annuities to my said Mother and Brother and Mary Lewes respectively and in that case my said two Legatees Esther Crabb and Richard Crabb must abate proportionally of the payment of their said Legacies at the time before mentioned and must wait for their respective Shares of what their said Legacies shall be so laid out till the Death of my Mother when I direct the same to be paid them and I do give and bequeath to such of my Relations and Friends as my Executor shall think fit each of them a Ring Item I Give Devise and Bequeath all my Mannors Messuages Lands Tenements and Hereditaments wheresoever the same shall be situate both Freehold and Copyhold and also all the rest residue and remainder of my Goods Chattels Money Securities for Money Debts Effects and Personal Estate unto my Cousin Henry Crabb Gentleman Son of the said Esther Crabb and to his Heirs Executors and Admintors to and for his and their own Use and Benefit forever And I do hereby name constitute and appoint the said Henry Crabb sole Executor of my Will and declare that my said Executor shall not be answerable or accountable for any Loss that may happen to my Estate in putting the same or any part thereof out at any Interest pursuant to the Directions herein before contained Lastly I do hereby revoke and make void all former and other Wills by me at any time heretofore made and do declare these presents only contained in five sheets of paper to be my last Will and Testament and none other or otherwise In Witness whereof I the said Richard Boulton the Testator have to each sheet of this my Will and to a Duplicate thereof set my Hand and Seal the twenty eighth day of February in the Year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and forty and in the fourteenth year of the Reign of King George the second R. Boulton – signed sealed published and declared by the said Richard Boulton the Testator as and for his last Will and Testament in the presence of us who have hereunto subscribed our Names as Witnesses in the presence of the said Testator and of each other John Combe Apothecary in Southampton Street Bloomsbury Square. Jono. Wendon Copthall Court Throgmorton Street John Edgar his Clerk.

This Will was proved at London the first day of March in the Year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and forty five before the Worshipful George Hay Doctor of Laws and Surrogate of the right Worshipfull John Bettesworth also Doctor of Laws Master Keeper or Commissary of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury lawfully constituted by the Oath of Henry Crabb Boulton formerly Henry Crabb the sole Executor in the said Will named To whom Admincon was granted of all and singular the Goods Chattels and Credits of the said deceased being first sworn duly to administer the same.

This entry was posted in Boulton, Crabb, Forrest, Jemblin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

