The last will and testament of Captain William Burgundy Champain

Marine chronometer by Thomas Earnshaw (via www.britishmuseum.org)

Marine chronometer by Thomas Earnshaw (via http://www.britishmuseum.org)

Early 19th century gold pocket watch by Grimalde and Johnson (via www. bonhams.com, with thanks to Christine Hoey)

Early 19th century gold pocket watch by Grimalde and Johnson (via www. bonhams.com, with thanks to Christine Hoey)

I’m grateful to Christine Hoey for giving me permission to share her transcription of the last will and testament of Captain William Burgundy Champain, about whom I wrote in the previous post. The main reason for posting the will in full is that it provides valuable information about the wider Champain family. I’ll discuss what we can learn from William’s will in another post.

Abraham Rees' Encyclopaedia

Abraham Rees’ Encyclopaedia


 This is the last Will and testament of me William Burgundy Champain a post captain in the Royal Navy I bequeath my plate Linen china household furniture wearing apparel my Encyclopaedia by Rees and others and my Chronometer by Earnshaw unto my nephew Henry Hugh Champain of the Middle Temple Esq one of the Ex[ecut]ors hereinafter mentioned I bequeath my Gold Watch by Grimaldi and Johnson and the Gold Chain and seals which I wear with the same and all the rest of my Books and pamphlets unto my Nephew John Champain of the Middle Temple aforesaid and I bequeath my Gold Snuff Box to my Nephew Agnew Champain and I bequeath all the Rest and Residue of my personal estate and effects unto the said Henry Hugh Champain and his Ex[ecut]ors Ex[ecut]ors Adm[inistrat]ors and assigns upon trust thereout to pay my just Debts and to invest the Residue thereof at interest upon Government or real securities in their names and to vary and transfer such securities when and as they shall think fit and I declare that the said Henry Hugh Champain his Ex[ecut]ors Adm[inistrat]ors and assigns shall stand possessed of the said trust securities upon trust to pay the interest and dividends unto my Sister Mrs Ann Horabin for her life for her own use and benefit and after her decease to stand possessed of the said trust funds upon trust for my three nieces Ann Champain Julia Margaret Champain & Caroline Eliza Champain equally share and share alike as tenants in Common the said shares to be for the separate use of my said three nieces and not subject to the Debts or Control of any persons with whom they may respectively intermarry and I appoint the said Henry Hugh Champain Ex[ecut]or of this my will and hereby revoke all my former wills In witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal this eighth day of April 1815 at Bath Somerset Wm B Champain (S) signed published and declared by the said testator William Burgundy Champain as and for his last will and testament in our presences who at his request have hereunto subscribed our names as witnesses Chas. Ruxton of Dublin John Guyon Lieut. Royal Navy of Bath Co Of Somersetshire.

Proved at London the 29th August 1818 before the worshipful Sherrard Beaumont Burnaby Doctor of Laws & solicitor by the Oath of Henry Hugh Champain Esquire the Nephew and the Sole Ex[ecut]or to whom admon was granted having both first sworn to admin[iniste]r.

This entry was posted in Champain, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

