The last will and testament of John Champain, citizen and wine cooper

I’m continuing to explore the Champain family and their links with my Gibson and Collins ancestors. In earlier posts I’ve discussed James Champain and his family, and in the last post I began to write about his sister Ann Champain who married Richard Collins of Epping, Essex. Their father John Champain, a London wine cooper who retired to Epping Long Green, made his last will and testament in 1750 and died in 1756. In this post I’m sharing my transcription of John’s will, and in the next post I’ll discuss what it can tell us about him and his family.

Thames Street, London, looking towards All Hallows church (via www.londonancestor.com)

Thames Street, London, looking towards All Hallows church (via http://www.londonancestor.com)


This is the last Will and Testament of me John Champain late of Tower Street London Citizen and Wine Cooper but now of Epping Long Green in the County of Essex as follows (that is to say) I desire to be buried according to such directions as I shall leave in writing for that purpose but in case I leave no such directions then I desire my Funeral may be decent and private at the discretion of my Executor. Whereas I have fully advanced my only daughter Anne now the wife of Mr Richard Collins of Epping in the County of Essex Also I do therefore, subject to the payment of my Funeral Expenses and Just Debts, hereby give devise and bequeath all my Estate and Effects whatsoever and wheresover and of what nature or kind soever the same be unto my son James Champain his Heirs Executors Administrators and Assigns for ever And I do revoke all former Wills by me at any time heretofore made and of this my last Will and Testament I make and appoint my said son James Champain sole Executor. In Witness whereof I have to this my last Will and Testament set my hand and seal this third day of October in the twenty fourth year of the Reign of his Majesty King George the Second of Great Britain and so forth and in the year of our Lord Christ one thousand seven hundred and fifty – John Champain – signed sealed published and declared by the above named John Champain as and for his last Will and Testament in the presence of us who as witnesses to the same have in his presence subscribed our names – H. Bosworth – Jos. Dornford – Thomas Higgins.

 

This Will was proved at London the seventh day of April in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and fifty six before the Worshipfull Arthur Collier doctor of Laws Surrogate of the Right Honourable Sir George Lee Knight also doctor of Laws Master Keeper or Commissary of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury lawfully constituted by the Oath of James Champain the son of the deceased and sole Executor named in the said will To whom Administration was granted of all and singular the Goods Chattels and Credits of the said deceased having been first sworn duly to administer. Exd.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

