The will of John Byne, Citizen and Stationer of London

First page of the 1689 will of John Byne

First page of the 1689 will of John Byne

Yesterday I wrote about the will of Alice Byne, who died in 1738. Alice was the widow of London citizen and stationer John Byne, who died in 1690. I discovered recently that John and Alice were my 8 x great grandparents, the parents of my 7 x great grandmother Mary Byne (born in 1683), the wife of goldsmith Joseph Greene (1677 – 1737).

Section of John Rocque's map of London in 1746, showing Lad Lane in the parish of St Michael, Wood Street, where John Byne had property (see will below)

Section of John Rocque’s map of London in 1746, showing Lad Lane (at bottom left) in the parish of St Michael, Wood Street, where John Byne had property (see will below)

It was John Byne’s will of 1689 that first alerted me to Mary’s link with the Byne family of Tower Hill. This document is also important in providing us with the names of Mary Byne’s brothers and sisters, as well as containing clues about John’s own family background. I’ll be pursuing both of these themes in future posts, but in this post I want to share my transcription of John Byne’s will. As usual, I’ve retained the original spelling and punctuation as far as possible, and have inserted question marks (?) where I’m unsure of the original:

In the Name of God Amen. The Four and twentieth day of January Anno Lord 1689 And in the first yeare of the Reigne of our Soveraigne Lord and Lady William & Mary by the grace of God King and Queene of England Scotland France & Ireland Defenders of the Faith I John Byne of the parish of St Buttolph without Aldgate Citizen and Stationer of London being at this present time somewhat indisposed in health But of sound and perfect mind and memory praise be Given to Almighty God for the same Yett Considering with my selfe the certainty of Death and the uncertainty of the time thereof Doe make publish and declare this my last Will and Testament in manner and forme following (that is to say) First and cheifly I comend my immortall Soule into the mercifull hands of Almighty God my Creator Trusting thorough the alsufficient merritts and passion of my Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ to receive free remission and forgivenesse of all my Sins and and to inherit Eternall Life in the Kingdome of Heaven And my Body I comitt to the Earth whereof it was formed to be decently interred at the discretion of my deare wife and Executrix hereunder named And as touching such worldly Goods and Estate wherewith the Lord of his infinite Goodnesse and mercy hath bin pleased to blesse me withall and to bestow upon me I Give devise and dispose thereof and of every part thereof in manner following viz. Imprimis I give and bequeath unto my honoured Mother Mrs. Anne Forrest Widdow the sume of five pounds of lawfull mony of England to buy her mourning Item I give and bequeath unto my deare and Loveing Wife Alice Byne my Executrix hereunder named the sume of one hundred pounds of lawfull money of England And I do hereby further give and bequeath unto my said wife Alice Byne for and during the terme of her naturall life and noe longer All that my freehold Messuage or Tenement with the appurtenances now in the possession of John Talbott plumber his undertenants or assigns Situate lying and being in Ladd lane neere Woodstreete in the parish of St Michael Woodstreete within the City of London And I doe further give unto my said wife all the good utensils and furniture which is in the best Chamber of my dwelling house Situate at Little Tower hill London wherein I usually lodge And from and after the decease of my said wife Alice Byne I doe give devise and bequeath the said Messuage or Tenement with th’appurtenances Situate in Ladd Lane aforesd unto and amongst my five Children viz. John, Alice, Mary, Magnus, and Thomas Byne and to their heires and Assignes for ever equally part and share alike Item I give and bequeath unto my Loveing Brother Magnus Byne the sume of Five and Twenty pounds of lawfull money of England to be paid to him by my said Executrix hereunder named within Three months next after my decease Item I give devise and bequeath unto my said five Children, John, Alice, Mary, Magnus, and Thomas Byne and to their heires Executors and assignes for ever equally to be divided betweene them part & share alike All those my fower Messuages or Tenements with their & every of their appurtenances Situate lying and  being in or neere Distaffe Lane in the parish of St Margaret Moses in Fryday streete and St Nicholas Coleabbey or one of them neere old Fish streete within the City of London And all my Estate Right (?) Tytle and Interest of in or to the same or any of them or any part of them either for Terme of yeares or otherwise howsoever All the Rest and residue of all and singular my Goods chattles plate Rings ready money Stock in Trade household goods and Estate whatsoever both reall and personall whereof or wherein I shall dye possessed or interested in any manner of wise after my Just debts and Legacys are paid & funeral expenses discharged I doe hereby give devise and bequeath the same every part thereof fully and wholly unto and amongst my said five Children, John, Alice, Mary, Magnus, and Thomas Byne their heires Execs Admrs and assignes for ever equally to be divided betweene them part and share alike Provided alwayes and my mind and will expressly is That in case either or any of my said Children shall happen to dye or depart this life in their either or any of their minoritys before his her or their respective Legacy or Legacys & portion or portions shall become due and payable and held and enjoyed as aforesaid That then the share and portion, shares and portions and Legacy or Legacys of him, her and them so dyeing shall come and attend (?) to and amongst the Survivoure and Survivours of them my said Children and their respective heires Executors administrators and assignes equally part and share alike Provided also and it is my further will and desire That incase my said wife Alice Byne shall hereafter happen to marry a second husband That then shee shall before such a second marriage deliver assigne and set over unto some able person or persons in trust for my said Children All and every the portions fortunes and Estates of my said Children to and for their & either of their respective uses and Interests according to the tenour (?) of this my last Will and Testament And I doe hereby make constitute and appoint my said Deare and Loveing wife Alice Byne to be full and sole Executrix of this my last Will and Testament not doubting but she will performe the same according to my mind and will afore herein declared And I doe hereby desire and appoint my Loveing Freinds and Neighbours Mr John Hawkins Distiller and Mr Samuel Lloyd Apothecary to be overseers of this my last Will and Testament and doe Entreate them to be aiding and assisting to my said wife and Executrix with the best advice and Counsell they cann in the Execution thereof And I do hereby give unto them my said freinds Mr John Hawkins and Mr Samuel Lloyd forty shillings apeece for their paines and care to be used in the same And lastly I doe hereby revoake annul and make voyd all former and other Will and Wills by me att any time heretofore made And doe declare this and none other to be my very last Will and Testament In witnesse whereof I the said John Byne the Testator have to each sheete of this my last Will and Testament comprised in six sheetes of paper every sheete except this last containeing sixteene lines, sett my hand and fixed my Seale by a Labill at the top of the said sheetes dated the day and yeare first herein written. John Byne.

Signed sealed published declared by the said John Byne the Testator for and as his last Will and Testament in the presence of us Ann hon. Raheel Peeck. Wm. Hawkins Scr.

This entry was posted in Byne, Greene. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

