The will of Peter Boulton of Bath

In this post I’m sharing my transcription of a third will by a member of the Boulton family. A few days ago I wrote about the 1737 will of Richard Boulton the elder, of the parish of St Olave Hart Street in the City of London. This was followed by the will of his nephew, another Richard Boulton, who had retired to Perdiswell in Worcestershire, written in 1740 and proved in 1745. Today I’m reproducing a transcription of the brief last will and testament of Peter Boulton, signed and sealed in 1741 and proved in 1743.

Firstly, a brief reminder of my interest in the Boultons. In 1733 my 8 x great grandmother Alice Byne née Forrest appointed ‘Richard Boulton the Elder’ as overseer of her will (though in the event he would pre-decease her by a year). In his will of 1700, Alice’s uncle William Forrest of Badsey, Worcestershire, had referred to ‘my sister Alice Boulton’ and to ‘my cozen Alice Bolton daughter of Peter Bolton’. My research into the Boultons over the past few days has provided sufficient evidence to persuade me that this is indeed the ‘right’ family, and that my Forrest ancestors were related to them in some way that I’ve yet to discover.

Bath in the 18th century

Bath in the 18th century

We know from the will of Richard Boulton the elder that Peter Boulton was his brother. The unusually named Posthumous or Posthuma Boulton is described in that will as Richard’s sister, but the will of his nephew, the younger Richard, confirms that she was actually his sister-in-law – the wife of his brother Richard. That later will refers to ‘my Uncle and Aunt Peter and Posthuma Boulton of the City of Bath’. Richard Boulton the younger also leaves money to ‘Mrs. Mary Gibbs the Wife of Walter Gibbs of the City of Bath Apothecary’, whom Peter’s will reveals to be his granddaughter.

My transcription of Peter Boulton’s will follows, and in the next post I’ll report what I’ve managed to find out about its author:

I Peter Boulton of the City of Bath in the County of Somerset Gentleman do hereby make and ordain this my last will and Testament in manner following (that is to say) first all that my Messuage or Tenement with all appurts thereto belonging in the parish of St Mary Axe in the City of London I give and devise unto my granddaughter Mary Gibbs the wife of Walter Gibbs in the said City of Bath Apothecary her heirs and assigns forever Item I all my Goods and Chattels Rights and Credits whatsoever and wheresoever I give and bequeath unto my loving wife Posthuma Boulton whom I do hereby appoint whole and sole Executrix of this my will And I do hereby revoke all former wills by me at any time heretofore made and do declare this to be my last will and Testament In Witness whereof I the said Testator have to this my last will and Testament set my hand and seal this nineteenth day of October one thousand seven hundred forty and one Peter Boulton Signed sealed published and declared by the said Testator as and for his last will and Testament in the presence of us who at his request and in his sight have subscribed our hands as Witnesses hereto John Cogswell Richard Butt Saml. Purlewent. 

This Will was proved at London on the Ninth day of July in the year of our Lord One thousand seven hundred and forty three before the Right Worshipfull John Bettesworth Doctor of Laws Master Keeper or Commissary of the prerogative Court of Canterbury lawfully constituted By the Oath of Posthuma Boulton Widow the Relict of the deced and sole Executrix named in the said will To whom administration was granted of all and singular the Goods Chattels and Credits of the said deceased being first sworn duly to administer the same .

This entry was posted in Boulton, Byne, Forrest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

